Most Instagram DM automation tools pay recurring affiliate commission, at rates between 20% and 30%. Where they differ far more is how long they keep paying and, most of all, when they decide a referral was yours. That last question is the one nobody puts on their affiliate page, and it is the one that decides whether you get paid at all.
What the published programs actually say
Read off each vendor's own affiliate page or partner dashboard, September 2026:
| Tool | Rate | For how long | Attribution window |
|---|---|---|---|
| inDM | 30% | For as long as they keep paying | 60 days, to the signup |
| CreatorFlow | 30% | 12 months per referral | 60 days, first click |
| Inrō | 30% | Up to 12 months per referral | Not stated on the page |
| SuperProfile | 20% | Every renewal, no cap stated | Not stated |
A table like this is only worth what its sources are worth, so: CreatorFlow's and Inrō's numbers are off their own affiliate pages, and SuperProfile's are off its own Refer & Earn dashboard, which states "You earn 20% every time" and spells it out as 20% of the plan on the first purchase and on every renewal.
The two rows worth reading together are CreatorFlow's and SuperProfile's, because they are the two ways a program can be stingy and they are opposites. CreatorFlow pays the higher rate and stops at twelve months. SuperProfile pays a third less and never stops. Which is worth more depends entirely on how long the customer you sent stays, which is a thing neither of them is telling you and neither of them controls.
Inrō's page states the rate and the duration and says nothing about a cookie window, pointing instead at terms it does not show. CreatorFlow's is the most complete of the three published pages: 30% for twelve months, a 60 day first-click cookie, a $25 minimum, monthly PayPal payouts in the first ten days of the month, and a 40 day clearing period after each customer payment.
The number that is missing from every one of those pages
A cookie window looks like one number and is actually two questions.
Question one: how long does the cookie live? Sixty days, ninety days, a hundred and twenty. This is the number everyone publishes.
Question two: what event has to happen inside that window? Almost always, the answer is the payment. The cookie is set when somebody clicks your link and read again at the checkout, and if there is no checkout inside the window, there is no commission.
For a tool you have to pay for on day one, those two questions collapse into the same thing and the distinction does not matter. For a tool with a real free plan, they come apart completely.
Here is the shape of it. Somebody reads your post in March, opens your link, and signs up on the free plan. They connect Instagram, build one automation, and watch it run. In June their reel takes off, the automation is doing real work, and they upgrade.
Under a cookie read at checkout, that referral is worth nothing to you. The cookie expired in May. You did the work of introducing a customer who is now paying every month, and the window closed while they were making up their mind.
This is not an edge case on a freemium product, it is the normal path. Free plans exist precisely so people can take their time.
How to read an affiliate program before you promote it
Four questions, in order of how much they change your earnings:
- What has to happen inside the window: the signup, or the payment? If the page does not say, assume the payment, and assume you will lose every referral who takes longer than the window to buy. Ask before you commit.
- Does it stop? Twelve months is the category norm. On a $15 a month product at 30%, a referral who stays two years earns you about $54 under a twelve month cap and about $108 without one. That is the same rate and twice the money.
- What is the commission calculated on? The amount actually collected, or the list price? Any tool with an intro offer or a discount collects less than its sticker price in month one, and 30% of a number nobody paid is a number you will not see.
- When does it clear, and what is the minimum? A clearing period is fair and exists so nobody claws money back off you after a refund. A high minimum on a low-priced product is a different thing: at $4.50 a month per referral, a $50 threshold is eleven referral-months before your first payout.
A fifth question, if you are choosing between two programs that answer the first four the same way: can you see what happened? A program that shows you which referrals are paying, and what each one has earned, is a program you can learn from. One that shows a single balance is asking you to trust it.
What we do, and why
We pay 30%, and we keep paying for as long as that creator keeps paying. There is no twelve month cap.
Our sixty days is counted to the signup, not to the payment. The referral is bound the moment somebody creates an inDM account, and from then on it does not expire. The creator who signs up free in March and upgrades in June still earns you 30%, every month, from June onwards.
That choice is not generosity. inDM is free with no message limit and no card, so the honest majority of creators we are sent will not pay for weeks or months. A program that measured the window to the payment would be a program that mostly did not pay, on a product designed to be taken slowly. We would rather the terms match how the product actually gets bought.
The rest of it, plainly: commission is 30% of what we collect excluding tax, each payment clears after 30 days so a refund never comes out of a payout already sent, and you request a payout whenever you have $25 or more ready rather than waiting on a payout day. Your dashboard shows every referral's signup date, whether they are paying, and what each one has earned you. It does not show their name, because they are our customer too.
Details are on the affiliate program page, and the full terms are short.
One last thing about promoting tools
The rates above sit within ten points of each other, which means the rate is not what decides your income from this. What decides it is whether the tool keeps the customers you send it.
A 30% commission on a product people cancel in month two is worth less than 20% on one they keep for three years. Before you weigh the percentages, work out which of these you would still be using in a year if nobody paid you anything. Promote that one.